Oh My Horror! The Children are on the loose!

I’ve been watching kids of all ages, observing their behaviour, I mean, and I must admit that differences in personalities can be seen at a really young age! Some are one of those nice naive types, who wouldn’t hurt a fly, others are proper “I’m torturing animals and I’m proud of it” types, you can recognize them by the really cold and focused look in their eyes that they give you while walking down THEIR street, and then there are the oblivious ones, who are securely living inside their own bubble, that they share with likeminded individuals of their own age, conpletely focused only on one topic that they find interesting, like the three boys who excel in skate rides around the neighbourhood who I’ve just passed on the street. The second case reminded me of Eden Lake, a film that is so good in communicating an important message, and yet so disturbing that I’m not sure if I want to recommend it to you, if you haven’t seen it yet, that is. A small town mentality is something I’m very familiar with, I was born in a small town. That mentality in the film is so blatantly put out there, with a simplicity of reading a bed time story and the straightforwardness of a prostitute working the streets! Maybe that is the reason why it made such an impact on me, on an emotional level rather than anything else. There is a scene in the film, just a simple one, nothing fancy, but so powerful that it made me cringe after watching it, which in return resulted in yelling at the screen and covincing the main characters to leave this place if they know what’s best for them, because they will die a horrible and painful death! Which, of course, didn’t work, and our characters walked slowly into the trap of the oh so monstrous small town mentality. The couple was sitting in a local diner after they had an unpleasant encounter with some youngsters in the woods, and they were enquiring about their whereabouts and their identity, so that they can do the right thing and tell their parents what ugly little creatures their kids are! That didn’t work either for our couple, because finishing that conversation, was one of the waitresses, who was obviously a mother herself, and the only thing that she said to the two strangers in a small town tight community was: “Not mine”, meaning her perfect kid couldn’t do anything wrong, repeated several times with a tone of voice that gave me the proper chills and made me turn off the screen to compose myself a bit. That is, in my opinion, one of the best scenes in Eden Lake. That one really stuck with me, despite the more violent and graphic scenes I’ve been exposed to during the film. Why, you ask? Because it is the beginning of the end. It builds up an unsettling atmosphere up until the end, and a sense of ultimate despair. That scene gives the ending more power than it actually deserves, becuase it’s socially and culturally very important and very real.

Categories:

Leave a Reply

